Making Simple Meals

So many of us struggle with making healthy meals and trying to stay on our diet.  I know I struggle all the time.  I know it didn’t take me a few months to add on the extra weight so I have to change my eating to include eating more times a day and eating less at each meal.  The hard part is when you are cooking for yourself and you just don’t want to get out the skillet or grill and make something.  It is easier to reach for something out of the freezer and throw it into the oven,  ie a pizza.  Diets will take some weight off, but can we continue to eat that way the rest of our life?   I can’t.  I am trying to change my way of eating for the rest of my life.  More healthy eating, less fast food.  🙂

For a long time, I will admit I threw in the pizza or frozen food to eat for a meal.  I also admit at times I will grab a frozen dinner and put it in the microwave.  They are lower in calories but, unfortunately, they are high in sodium.  I keep telling myself I am cutting back on the portion and the calories so it is going to good for me.  Don’t get me wrong there is nothing wrong with eating a frozen dinner every once in a while, just not all the time.

The other day I opened my fridge and I found some bacon and fried all of it up.  I put it in a food saver and placed it back in the fridge.  Earlier I had pulled three pieces out and cut them into smaller bites.  I then reached in and pulled out my romaine lettuce.  (*First Hint: I purchase my romaine lettuce in the stalk, not cut up in a bag.  It seems to keep longer and stay crisp. I also put the stalk I am using in a gallon bag and roll it to get all the air out of the bag when I seal it up. ) Looking for something sweet on my salad, I grabbed three strawberries and sliced them.  Then it was time to think about pulling my salad together so I reached into my refrigerator and grabbed my salad dressing.  I am in love with the Opa Feta Dill Greek Yogurt.  It is thicker than most dressings and is found in the produce section of the grocery.

All of this only took me about 10 minutes to put everything together.  The salad was so good.  During the summertime, we tend to lean towards cooler foods to eat.  Salads are a great way to get your protein and also your vegetables.  You could add some cucumbers to the salad if you would like.  I added the strawberries to give it a little bit of sweetness to kill the craving for an after dinner sweet, which I try not to keep anything in the house that resembles cookies or cakes lol.  Now like everyone I just die for a candy bar or a cookie.  lol

When I grew up we lived on a farm and times were tough.  We ate a lot of meat because we butchered it on the farm.  There was also a jar of jam or jelly on the table at our meals and we were encouraged to make a jelly bread to fill us up more.  Mom always had a sheet cake made and sitting on the counter for us to eat so we weren’t munching on other things.  Every few months my mom would make up breakfast rolls and they could be found rising all over the kitchen.  She would freeze them and pull them out as needed.  So was I raised on a lot of carbs?  Yes!!  But, we worked hard on the farm and we burned off the calories.  It is a new generation and we are more sedate than we were back them.  Time to eat healthier and feel better.

I hope I have given you some inspiration and maybe you will find yourself walking through the grocery and hitting only the aisles around the outside of the store.  Most of the healthier foods.  🙂  Have a great week!!

Pam

 

Salad plate

Leave a Reply

